Education and Professional Development
Grants Awarded
Frequently Asked Questions

Foundation Home Grants Conservation Campus Heritage Grants
Campus Heritage Grants Awarded - 2002

Bryn Mawr College, Pennsylvania

Founded in 1879, the buildings and landscapes of Bryn Mawr College are outstanding models of campus planning and the Collegiate Gothic style of architecture. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Bryn Mawr's campus includes the work of noted architects and landscape architects such as Ralph Adams Cram, Frederick Law Olmsted, and Calvert Vaux. This grant will allow the college to produce a plan detailing the current state of the built and natural environment at Bryn Mawr and an assessment of the internal policies that affect it.

  Bryn Mawr College

Columbia University, New York

Columbia University's core historic campus, located in the Morningside Heights area of Manhattan, is an ensemble of classically designed Beaux Arts buildings that date to the turn of the twentieth century. Many of them were designed by the prominent architectural firm of McKim, Mead, and White. The windows of these buildings, which are the originals and range in date from 1903 to 1928, are an integral part of the character of the campus. Planning funds will support the creation of a detailed report on the specifications of existing windows, which are in various states of disrepair, in order to proceed with a repair and replacement program.

  Columbia University

Haverford College, Pennsylvania

Haverford College, founded in 1833, is the oldest Quaker institution of higher education in the United States. Originally a school for educating Quaker boys, the college is now one of the premiere liberal arts colleges in the country with over ninety buildings. This rich history of growth has transformed what was farmland in the early 1830s into an historic landscape comprising the largest and most intact group of architectural commissions by the Society of Friends. The grant will allow Haverford to determine the original finishes and mortars of their core structures, which will guide the restoration of the exteriors of these key historic buildings.

  Haverford College

Salve Regina University, Newport, Rhode Island

Salve Regina University received its charter in 1934. Located on a sixty-acre campus, its buildings consist of seven contiguous nineteenth-century estates created for wealthy patrons by the most important architects of America's Gilded Age: Frank Furness; Richard Morris Hunt; McKim, Mead and White; Peabody and Stearns; and H.H. Richardson, among others. The university's stewardship of these important architectural monuments, beginning in the 1950s and continuing through the present, has resulted in their protection and preservation. Grant funds will be used to survey the conditions and needs of these sites in order to guide the university's ongoing efforts of historic preservation and thoughtful academic reuse.

  Salve Regina University

Savannah College of Art and Design, Georgia

The campus of Savannah College of Art and Design, founded in 1978, is indistinguishable from the urban historic fabric of the city. College buildings represent a diversity of historic styles and origins in four distinct historic districts: the Savannah National Historic Landmark District; the Central of Georgia Shops and Terminal Facilities Landmark District; the Savannah Victorian District; and the Thomas Square Trolley Historic District. Funding will contribute both to the preparation of specialized condition reports for buildings with the most urgent preservation needs and to integrate the preparation of these reports into the college's teaching curriculum.

  Savannah College of Art and Design

Scripps College, Claremont, California

Scripps was created with a unified historic campus plan influenced by Mission Revival architecture, popular in California at the time of the college's founding in 1926. The campus plan was the result of collaboration between architect Gordon Kaufmann and landscape architect Edward Huntsman-Trout, in consultation with the college's benefactor, Ellen Browning Scripps. The resulting design of the buildings and grounds has provided a distinctive look for this small residential women's college, which is listed as an historic district in the National Register of Historic Places. Funding will support a campus stewardship master plan for its historic buildings and landscapes, which will guide the college in its future preservation efforts.

  Scripps College

Spelman College, Atlanta, Georgia

Spelman College, founded in 1881, is renowned for its long history of providing quality education for African American women to prepare them for leadership roles. The college campus consists of more than thirty-two acres and twenty-five buildings on the west side of Atlanta. Spelman's campus houses eleven buildings completed before 1927, several of which are included in the National Register of Historic Places designation Spelman shares with neighboring colleges. It is one of five institutions that make up the Atlanta University Center (AUC), the largest consortium of higher educational facilities for black students in the world with a total population of 16,000 students. The Campus Heritage grant will allow Spelman to complete a campus preservation plan and, ultimately, to apply for National Historic Landmark Status.

  Spelman College

University of California, Berkeley

Since Berkeley received its charter in 1868, its development has been guided by established architects and landscape architects such as Émile Bénard, John Galen Howard, Bernard Maybeck, Julia Morgan, and Frederick Law Olmsted. In recent years, the university has worked to restore and preserve its historic buildings. The grant will support an historic landscape preservation plan component of a new campus master plan. In addition, it will allow Berkeley to undertake a cultural resource survey and conditions assessment of landscape features to create a management plan.

  University of California

The University of Chicago, Illinois

Founded in 1890, the University of Chicago faced a dramatic urban change on Chicago's south side. In 1955, the university's Board of Trustees engaged architect Eero Saarinen to oversee a post war campus expansion program. Following his plan, a dynamic campaign was undertaken to construct a new generation of campus building by leading architects at the time, including Holabird, Root, and Burgee; Ludwig Mies van der Rohe; Saarinen; and Skidmore, Owings, and Merrill. Funding will enable the university to develop guidelines to preserve the integrity of the university's modern iconic buildings while updating them to meet new energy efficiency criteria and accessibility standards.

  The University of Chicago

See a complete listing of grants awarded.

Back to Top