Note: To protect the privacy of our members, e-mail addresses have been removed from the archived messages. As a result, some links may be broken.

Find Lesson Plans on getty.edu! GettyGames

PROF DEV: This Week At TAPPED IN February 9, 2003

---------

From: BJ Berquist (berquist_at_TeacherArtExchange)
Date: Thu Feb 06 2003 - 03:35:22 PST


After School Online (ASO) is a forum for educators. The scheduled
events, designed for professional development, are open to everyone in
the TAPPED IN community and all guests.

This week's featured events for ESL/EFL teachers and learners include
the Saturday and Sunday WebHeads and a Sunday EuroLang discussion on
using Viv@, a virtual interactive village. The Technology in the
Classroom topic on Monday is Weather. On Tuesday K3+ Resources looks at
10 Great Sites for K-3 Students, Bill Hilton Jr. leads the Nuts About
Nature discussion and Kevan Nitzberg presents a tutorial on using
ArtsConnected, a free image and gallery creation interdisciplinary
resource. Wednesday brings a demonstration on Virtual Field Trips
created with the Tourmaker software. Participants in the joint LOC
Learning Page/Social Studies Forum will have a chance to investigate
African American history resources available on the Library of Congress
and American Memory site, view TIME Classroom resources for the upcoming
HBO documentary, "Unchained Memories: Readings From the Slave
Narratives", and also have a chance to chat with Jackie Glover, who
produced the documentary. The Pre-Service Teachers Discussion on
Thursday will take a look at websites for pre-service teachers.

Don't forget the tours and tips sessions if you're new to TAPPED IN or
if you want to find out how to get an archived transcript from an event
that you missed because of a time zone conflict or a busy holiday
schedule. There are tours scheduled to fit most time zones. Print out
this weekly schedule as a quick reference to what's happening.

Login at http://www.tappedin.org. If you are new to TAPPED IN, please
login 10 minutes before the ASO event is scheduled to begin. This will
allow the helpdesk volunteers to get you where you need to be.

Get a monthly view and description of the events online at our
Time-Zone Friendly Calendar:
http://www.tappedin.org/cgi-bin/calendar/calendar.cgi

Go to the url below each event for descriptions of the individual
events.
=================================================================
Saturday, February 8
* Writing for Webheads: World friendship thru lang. learning
8:00-9:00am PST/11:00-12 noon EST/16:00-17:00 GMT
http://www.tappedin.org/info/calendar/feb03.html#lang

* TAPPED IN Tours and Tips
11:00am-12pm PDT/2:00-3:00pm EDT/18:00-19:00 GMT
http://www.tappedin.org/info/calendar/feb03.html#TI
-------------------------------------------------------------
Sunday, February 9
* Writing for Webheads: World friendship thru lang. learning
4:00-5:00am PST/7:00-8:00am EST/12:00-13:00 GMT

* Euro Language Teachers Forum: The Viv@ Project
1:00-2:00pm PST/4:00-5:00pm EST/21:00-22:00 GMT
http://www.tappedin.org/info/calendar/feb03.html#lang
-------------------------------------------------------------
Monday, February 10
* Tech in the Classroom: Weather
5:00-6:00pm PST/8:00-9:00pm EST
http://www.tappedin.org/info/calendar/feb03.html#teched
-------------------------------------------------------------
Tuesday, February 11
* Oz-Time Tours and Tips/Campfire Meeting
0:00-1:00am PST/3:00-4:00am EST/8:00-9:00 GMT/7:00-8:00 AEDT
http://www.tappedin.org/info/calendar/feb03.html#TI

* TAPPED IN Tours and Tips
2:30-3:30pm PST/5:30-6:30pm EST/22:30-23:30 GMT

* ArtsConnected Workshop: Teaching Across the Curriculum
4:00-5:30pm PST/7:00-8:30pm EST
http://www.tappedin.org/info/calendar/feb03.html#art

* K-3+ Resources: 10 Great Sites for K-3 Students
5:00-6:00pm PST/8:00-9:00pm EST
http://www.tappedin.org/info/calendar/feb03.html#primary

* Nuts About Nature
6:00-7:00pm PST/9:00-10:00pm EST
http://www.tappedin.org/info/calendar/feb03.html#science
-------------------------------------------------------------
Wednesday, February 12
* Virtual Field Trips at www.field-trips.org
4:00-5:00pm PST/7:00-8:00pm EST
http://www.tappedin.org/info/calendar/feb03.html#online

* Social Studies Forum: SPECIAL! Civil Rights
5:00-6:00pm PST/8:00-9:00pm EST
http://www.tappedin.org/info/calendar/feb03.html#social

* Library of Congress Learning Page: Civil Rights
5:00-6:00pm PST/8:00-9:00pm EST
http://www.tappedin.org/info/calendar/feb03.html#class
-------------------------------------------------------------
Thursday, February 13
* Pre-Service Teachers: Websites for pre-service teachers
6:00-7:00pm PST/9:00-10:00pm EST
http://www.tappedin.org/info/calendar/feb03.html#pre
-------------------------------------------------------------
Saturday, February 15
* Writing for Webheads: World friendship thru lang. learning
8:00-9:00am PST/11:00-12 noon EST/16:00-17:00 GMT

* TAPPED IN Tours and Tips
11:00am-12pm PDT/2:00-3:00pm EDT/18:00-19:00 GMT
-------------------------------------------------------------
Sunday, February 16
* Writing for Webheads: World friendship thru lang. learning
4:00-5:00am PST/7:00-8:00am EST/12:00-13:00 GMT

* Euro Language Teachers Forum: The Viv@ Project
1:00-2:00pm PST/4:00-5:00pm EST/21:00-22:00 GMT
=================================================================

Respectfully submitted,
BJ Berquist
Associate Educator, TAPPED IN
mailto:bjb@tappedin.org
http://www.tappedin.org/info/members/bj.html

---