Note: To protect the privacy of our members, e-mail addresses have been removed from the archived messages. As a result, some links may be broken.

Lesson Plans

Fwd: grant funding

[ Thread ][ Subject ][ Author ][ Date ]
Mon, 27 Dec 1999 00:16:40 EST

Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

Content-Type: message/rfc822
Content-Disposition: inline

Return-Path: <mdart>
Received: from ( [])
by (v67.7) with ESMTP; Wed, 22 Dec 1999
10:49:00 -0500
Received: from ( []) by (v67.6) with ESMTP; Wed, 22 Dec 1999 10:48:41
Received: from [] ("port 2109"@[])
by SMTP00.InfoAve.Net (PMDF V5.1-12 #23426)
with ESMTP id <01JJSSMI43EI8ZFL36>; Wed,
22 Dec 1999 10:48:28 EST
Date: Wed, 22 Dec 1999 09:47:18 -0600
From: Marge Dickinson <mdart>
Subject: grant funding
To: Elizabeth Leal <eleal>, Jelena Todorovich <jh2002>,
C L Gold <Artsmartie>,
David Kerkemeyer <>,
Karen Reed <KarenReedC>, Elizabeth Williams
Dave Underhill <dunderhi>, Trish Meyer <PMeyer6553>,
Evelyne Tardy <emtard2>, Dennis Zygadlo
Clay Sewell <clay>, Marje Reichart <marlan831>,
Jessica Gorrell <jmgorr2>, Bob Enkey <gail1611>,
Tracy Burton <traczy_nrp>, Anne Blue
Lynn Bailey <ldbaile>, Zenia McBride <zenia>,
Beth Gelman <rtsattack>, Julie Johnson <cgjulie>,
Bonnie Hill-Dowdy <hilldowdy>, Liz Waters
Laura Haugeberg <bloppnow>, Katie Swieca <SWIECS>,
Jennifer Bernstein <>,
Janet Putz <LJPYES>,
Meloday Fenton-Reichart <littlebigcanyon>,
Gary Stockmann <>,
Jody Simmons <>,
Patty Novakowski <Pattyn>,
Betty Thusestad <bathuestad>,
Heather Colombatto <hgcolo2>,
Mackenzie Strupp <macstrupp>,
Melissa Johnson <>
Message-id: <01JJSSMILJ408ZFL36>
MIME-version: 1.0
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express for Macintosh - 4.01 (295)
Content-type: text/plain; charset="ISO-8859-1"
Content-transfer-encoding: quoted-printable
X-Priority: 3

Good morning, everyone. The following came from NAEA and includes winners
for the grants given by various grants and foundations. Illinois is
represented by only one person. Perhaps we need to publicize this
information more widely. I will put it in the next Mosaic but you can help
by spreading the word where you are. We have a lot of sharp intelligent
people in Illinois who could easily be receiving this money. Let's go for
it next year! Marge


RESTON, VA =F3 The Trustees of the National Art Education Foundation voted=
unanimously to award recipients grants under the four grant programs=20
administered by the Foundation for 2000. The Foundation, established as
independent, sister organization to the National Art Education Association=20
(NAEA), supports four grant programs: the Teacher Incentive Program; the
McMullan Fund; the NAEA Research Fund; and the Ruth Halvorsen Professional=20
Development Fund.


The purpose of the Ruth Halvorsen Professional Development Fund is to
scholarships that promote NAEA=EDs efforts to initiate and encourage the=20
understanding and implementation of the goals for student learning=20
promulgated through the Visual Arts Standards. Annual scholarships will be=20
awarded to selected art educators whose proposals focus on understanding,=20
implementation, and issues specifically relating to the standards.

2000 Ruth Halvorsen Professional Development Fund Recipients
Beth A. Hoke, Clinton, IN
Irene Williams, Andover, NJ


The purpose of the Mary McMullan Fund is to support of projects that promote

art education as an integral part of the curriculum; to establish and/or=20
improve the instruction of art in public and private elementary and
schools as well as schools of higher education.=20

2000 Mary McMullan Fund for Art Education Recipients

Juliet G. Moore & Sara McKay, A Meeting of Theory & Practice: The Houston=20
Area Visual Resource Center, Houston, TX
Pamela J. Standley, Fine Art Docent Training Program, Newburyport, MA
Barbara Weiss, The 8th Grade Integrated Project At The Agnon School,=20
Beachwood, OH


The purpose of the Teacher Incentive Grant Program is to support projects=20
that promote the teaching of art. Teaching of art includes, but is not=20
limited to: the instructional process; curriculum; student learning; student

assessment; classroom behavior, management, or discipline; or other
relating to instructional interaction and the achievement of student=20

2000 Teacher Incentive Grant Recipients

Cynthia M. Davies, Appalachian Spring Project 2000, Chicago, IL
Deborah Jean Gray, Art With a Purpose Program for Chula Accellerated School,

Milan, MO
Paula Guhin, Shadow-Chasing=F3Founding A Photography Course, Aberdeen, SD
Byron Jones, The Art of Batik, Englehard, NC
Christine Palochak, Relating Visual Art To The Classroom Curriculum Through=20
Writing, Santa Cruz, CA
Sharon Propst, Cows In 2000=D6A Visual Arts Advocacy Program, Independence,=20=


The purpose of Research Grants Program is to endorse the National Art=20
Education Association=EDs efforts to initiate and encourage research in art=20
education, and to demonstrate its commitment to the goals for research in
education that the Association has promulgated through its Creating a Visual

Arts Research Agenda Toward the 21st Century, offers a program to provide=20
major grants to support research in art education.

2000 Research Grant Recipients

Dr. K. B. Basseches, Art Educator=EDs Preferences and Instructional Practice=
Relating to 11 Perceptual Concepts Overview of the Research Proposed,
Ferry, WV
Dr. Thomas M. Brewer, An Examination of Domain Specific and Instrumental=20
Instruction in Art Education, Orlando, FL
Dr. Charles Dorn, Creating Visual Arts Research Agenda Toward the 21st=20
Century, Tallahassee, FL
Dr. June Finnegan, A Study of the benefits of Incorporation Art
in Classrooms with Two-Year Old Children, Tallahassee, FL
Dr. Sheri R. Klein, Designing Interior Spaces: A Pilot Study with Fourth=20
Graders, Menomonie, WI
Dr. Robert Sabol, Research Out to Rural and Urban Art Teachers in the
Region of the National Art Education Association, West Lafayette, IN


Application to the Programs is open to any individual who is an active
of the National Art Education Association (NAEA) and has been for at least=20
one year prior to the date of application, to state/province associations of

the NAEA, or to recognized special interest groups of the NAEA. The
deadline for receiving applications is October 1, 2000. Mail to: National=20
Art Education Foundation, 1916 Association Drive, Reston, VA 22091-1590. =20
Awards will be announced on or before April 1, 2001. Selected projects will

be announced in the NAEA News.

For further information concerning grant applications or donations to the=20
Foundation contact Donnamarie Gilbert, (703)860-8000; FAX 703-860-2960;=20
e-mail, naea
Marge Dickinson
19047 US Hwy 34
Galva IL 61434
309 932 2880 FAX 309 932 8207 mdart


You are currently subscribed to artsednet as:
To unsubscribe send a blank email to leave-artsednet-4261K